English: Introduction

MediaWriting is an introductory, hands-on textbook for students preparing to write in the current multimedia environment. Rather than just talk about the differences among the styles of print, broadcast, and public relations, MediaWriting sythensizes and integrates them, while weaving in basic principles of Internet writing and social media reporting. Complete with real-world examples, practical writing exercises, and tips and information for entering into the profession, MediaWriting continues to give students the tools they need to become a successful media writer. The new edition has been extensively rewritten to reflect the dynamic nature of the profession, paying significant attention to how the Internet and social media have become essential communication tools for print and broadcast journalists, and public relations professionals. Further updates and features include: Increased attention to computer-assisted reporting, the preparation of online copy, and social media applications Two new chapters on lead writing and new new media A separate chapter focused solely on ethics Explanatory "how to" boxes that help students understand and retain main themes Illustrative "It Happened to Me" vignettes from the authors' professional experiences Discussion questions and exercises at the end of every chapter Suggested readings that highlight biographies, books, and websites that expand the scope and definition of professionalism In addition to new multimedia elements, the fourth edition's companion website features enhanced resources for both students and instructors, including chapter overviews, writing tips, a test bank, sample critiques, and a sample syllabus.

This third edition of Miriam Meyerhoff's highly successful textbook provides a solid, up-to-date appreciation of the interdisciplinary nature of the field and covers foundation issues, recent advances and current debates. It presents familiar or classic data in new ways, and supplements the familiar with fresh examples from a wide range of languages and social settings. It clearly explains the patterns and systems that underlie language variation in use, as well as the ways in which alternations between different language varieties index personal style, social power and national identity. New features of the third edition: Every chapter has been revised and updated with current research in the field, including material on sexuality, polylanguaging and lifespan change; Additional Connections with theory and Facts: No, really? are included throughout; Data from sign languages, historical linguistics and Asia-Pacific sociolinguistics have been revised and expanded; A brand new companion website featuring more examples and exercises can be found at www.routledge.com/textbooks/meyerhoff. Chapters include exercises that enable readers to engage critically with the text, break-out boxes making connections between sociolinguistics and linguistic or social theory, and brief, lively add-ons guaranteed to make the book a memorable and enjoyable read. With a full glossary of terms and suggestions for further reading, this text gives students all the tools they need for an excellent command of sociolinguistics. It can also be used in conjunction with The Routledge Sociolinguistics Reader, Doing Sociolinguistics and the online resources shared by all three books.

For courses in Business English, Business Communication, or English. Designed to keep pace with changing student populations, current workplace needs, and the emerging 21st century culture, this text offers a lively, accessible, and user-friendly alternative for the many students (including those with poor English skills) who dread the thought of barebones traditional grammar and communication instruction and its overkill of rules. Personalized by warmth, light humor, and inspiration, it focuses on the "real-world" English skills needed to get a good job, hold the job, and advance in a career i.e., how to write and speak Standard English for careers and to avoid noticeable errors. It features a reading level that assures readability for nearly any student, and uses unique presentation techniques (e.g., Read-Recap-Replay segments and adult-level "on-the-job" information embedded in skill exercises) that make principles easier to learn and remember than in similar texts.

The Routledge Handbook of Language and Intercultural Communication constitutes a comprehensive introduction to the multidisciplinary field of intercultural communication, drawing on the expertise of leading scholars from diverse backgrounds. The Handbook is structured in five sections and covers historical perspectives, core issues and topics, and new debates in the field, with a particular focus on the language dimension. Among the key themes addressed are: the foundation of intercultural communication; core themes and issues; putting intercultural communication theory into practice; new debates and future directions. The Handbook includes an introduction and overview by the editor, which provides readers with an indication of the focus of each sectionnbsp;and chapter. The Routledge Handbook of Language and Intercultural Communication is the ideal resource for advanced undergraduates and postgraduate students of applied linguistics, TESOL/TEFL and communication studies.

Routledge Applied Linguistics is a series of comprehensive textbooks, providing students and researchers with the support they need for advanced study in the core areas of English language and Applied Linguistics. Each book in the series guides readers through three main sections, enabling them to explore and develop major themes within the discipline. * Section A, Introduction, establishes the key terms and concepts and extends readers' techniques of analysis through practical application. * Section B, Extension, brings together influential articles, sets them in context, and discusses their contribution to the field. * Section C, Exploration, builds on knowledge gained in the first two sections, setting thoughtful tasks around further illustrative material. This enables readers to engage more actively with the subject matter and encourages them to develop their own research responses. Throughout the book, topics are revisited, extended, interwoven and deconstructed, with the reader's understanding strengthened by tasks and follow-up questions. This highly-successful text introduces and explores the dynamic area of intercultural communication, and the updated third edition features: * new readings by Prue Holmes, Fred Dervin, Lei Guo and Summer Harlow, Miriam Sobré-Denton and Nilaniana Bardham, which reflect the most recentdevelopments in the field * refreshed and expanded examples and exercises including new material on the world of business, radicalisation and cultural fundamentalism * extended discussion of topics which include cutting-edge material on cosmopolitanism, immigrants' intercultural communication and cultural travel * revised further reading. Written by experienced teachers and researchers in the field, Intercultural Communication, Third edition provides an essential textbook for advanced students studying this topic.

Introducing Translation Studies remains the definitive guide to the theories and concepts that make up the field of translation studies. Providing an accessible and up-to-date overview, it has long been the essential textbook on courses worldwide. This fourth edition has been fully revised and continues to provide a balanced and detailed guide to the theoretical landscape. Each theory is applied to a wide range of languages, including Bengali, Chinese, English, French, German, Italian, Punjabi, Portuguese and Spanish. A broad spectrum of texts is analysed, including the Bible, Buddhist sutras, Beowulf, the fiction of García Márquez and Proust, European Union and UNESCO documents, a range of contemporary films, a travel brochure, a children's cookery book and the translations of Harry Potter. Each chapter comprises an introduction outlining the translation theory or theories, illustrative texts with translations, case studies, a chapter summary and discussion points and exercises. NEW FEATURES IN THIS FOURTH EDITION INCLUDE: new material to keep up with developments in research and practice, including the sociology of translation, multilingual cities, translation in the digital age and specialized, audiovisual and machine translation revised discussion points and updated figures and tables new, in-chapter activities with links to online materials and articles to encourage independent research an extensive updated companion website with video introductions and journal articles to accompany each chapter, online exercises, an interactive timeline, weblinks, and powerpoint slides for teacher support This is a practical, user-friendly textbook ideal for students and researchers on courses in Translation and Translation Studies.

Hong Kong is a cosmopolitan city where international communication is a fact of everyday life. Translation has thus always been essential in bridging the social and cultural gap between Chinese and Western civilizations. Translation in Hong Kong: Past, Present and Future tries to assess the role played by this academic discipline at different historical periods and to articulate the issues that confront its future development. This is one of the most complete if not the best coverage on the subject, written by notable scholars and practitioners in the field.

The book is directed specifically at Chinese people who want to write good English. Problems special to Chinese people are dealt with in detail. It also contains a list of short, simple rules about writing.

In his best-selling Strictly English Simon Heffer explained how to write and speak our language well. In Simply English he offers an entertaining and supremely useful A-Z guide to frequent errors, common misunderstandings and stylistic howlers. What is the difference between amend and emend, between imply and infer, and between uninterested and disinterested? When should one put owing to rather than due to? Why should the temptation to write actually, basically or at this moment in time always be strenuously resisted? How does one use an apostrophe correctly, ensure that one understands what alibi really means, and avoid the perils of the double negative? With articles on everything from punctuation to tabloid English to adverbs and adjectives, Simply English is the essential companion for anyone who cares about the language and wants to use it correctly.

Metaphor is a topical issue across a number of disciplines, wherever researchers are concerned with how speakers and writers package and process messages. This book is addressed at readers from diverse academic backgrounds who are interested in ways of researching metaphor from different perspectives, and especially through corpus linguistics. A number of approaches to and exploitations of metaphor, including conceptual metaphor theory and cognitive approaches more generally, text and spoken discourse analysis, and CDA, are discussed, explored and critiqued using corpus data. The book also includes corpus linguistic studies of different aspects of metaphor, which investigate its linguistic and semantic properties and relate them to current theoretical views. The book demonstrates the need for naturally-occurring language data to be used in the development of metaphor theory, and shows the value of corpus data and techniques in this work.

Language, Society, and New Media uses an interdisciplinary approach, integrating frameworks from sociolinguistics and linguistic anthropology and emerging strands of research on language and new media, to demonstrate the relationship between language, society, thought, and culture to students with little to no background in linguistics. Couched in this integrative "e-sociolinguistic" approach, each chapter covers the significant topics in this area, including language structures, language and cognition, and language variation and change, to elucidate this relationship, while also extending the purview of the field to encompass forms of new media, including Facebook and Twitter. Discussions are supported by a wealth of pedagogical features, including sidebars, activities and assignments, and a comprehensive glossary. In Language, Society, and New Media, Marcel Danesi explores the dynamic connections between language, society, thought, and culture and how they continue to evolve in today's rapidly changing digital world, ideal for students in introductory courses in sociolinguistics, language and culture, and linguistic anthropology.