LibGuides: Architecture: Internet resources

Professional Organizations

“advocate for the value of architecture and give architects the resources they need to do their best work”

American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA)

“the professional association for landscape architects in the United States”

“the oldest independent school of architecture in the UK and one of the most prestigious and competitive in the world”

“has promoted the advancement and development of science, technology and art concerning architecture, with the mutual collaboration of its members.”

Australian Architecture Association

“enable the public to understand, enjoy and discuss architecture, locally and beyond”

Hong Kong Institutes of Architects

“accredit the architectural courses offered by local universities and tertiary institutions and offers advice on the aspects of professional practice and practical experience in architecture”

International Union of Architects (UIA)

“unite the architects of the world through a federation of their national organizations”

Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA)

“a global professional membership body driving excellence in architecture”

Society of Architectural Historians

“a nonprofit membership organization that serves a network of local, national, and international institutions and individuals who, by profession or interest, focus on the history of the built environment and its role in shaping contemporary life”

Useful Websites

archINFORM

An international architecture database includes over 81000 built and unrealized projects from various architects and planners.

Architectural Services Department

A Hong Kong government department responsible for developing and maintaining the public facilities for providing a better service to the general public.

Architectural Teaching Slide Collection (University of Southern California Libraries)

A collection consists of about 1300 slides from the Fritz Block collection that document Modern architecture of Southern California and 100 slides from the collection of Pierre Koenig.

Buildings Department

A Hong Kong government department responsible for promoting building safety; setting and enforcing safety, health and environmental standards for private buildings; as well as improving the quality of building development.

Canadian Architectural Archives (University of Calgary)

A collection of individual architects, architectural firms, and architectural projects of national significance with a focus on western Canada.

Photo Collection (MMIS, Hong Kong Public Libraries)

A collection includes old photos of Hong Kong dating back to the mid-19th century, with themes on historic buildings, street scenes and people’s livelihood for the study on the history of Hong Kong and district development.