Civil Engineering: Introduction

Now you can learn core concepts and applications of foundation analysis and design with Das/Sivakugan's best-selling PRINCIPLES OF FOUNDATION ENGINEERING, 9th Edition. Written specifically for undergraduate civil engineering students by renowned authors in the field of geotechnical engineering, this outstanding text provides an ideal balance between today's most current research and practical field applications. A wealth of worked-out examples and figures clearly illustrate the work of today's civil engineer, while timely information and insights help you develop the critical skills you need to properly apply theories and analysis as you evaluate soils and foundation design.

This book presents buildings developed using modular assembly approaches based on lightweight and corrosion-resistant fiber reinforced polymer (FRP) composites. Construction methods and the choice of building materials offer great opportunities for more productive and environmentally friendly solutions. This book includes valuable experimental data on large-scale structural components (beams, slabs, amd columns), connections (shear connections, wall stud connections, beam-column connections, column-column connections) and structures (composite floor system, structural sandwich assemblies, and full-scale structural demonstrations), supported with detailed numerical modelling and analytical methods. Largely drawing on the editor's research over the past ten years with inputs from a number of Ph.D. students, this timely book presents the latest developments in the field.  It includes well-designed figures and photographs, analytical formulations supported by data andtext, as well as descriptions to i) introduce a series of innovative structural components and connections and their assemblies and ii) illustrate their performance compared to existing solutions and criteria. This book is intended for researchers, graduate students and engineers in fields of the construction and composites industries. 

An indispensable tool for the beginning stages of designing and planning a building project This new edition of a classic, bestselling text provides, in one concise volume, the essential information needed to form the framework for the more detailed design and development of any building project. Organized largely by building type, it covers planning criteria and considerations of function and siting--and with over 6200 diagrams, it provides a mass of data on spatial requirements. Most of the featured illustrations are dimensioned and each building type includes plans, sections, site layouts, and design details. The book also includes an extensive bibliography and detailed set of metric/imperial conversion tables. Architects' Data starts with the basics of designing for a new building project, before moving on to covering everything an architect needs to know. It also looks at the design styles and specifications for creating different types of structures, such as those made for residential, religious, cultural, sports, medical, and other types of occupation. Covers user requirements, planning criteria, basic dimensions, and considerations of function and siting Includes numerous examples and over 6200 illustrations and tables 5th English edition of the classic, international reference for architects Architects' Data is an excellent resource for architects, building surveyors, space planners, and design and build contractors everywhere.

This book is aimed at students taking occupational safety and health courses atthe universities, Construction Industry Council and Occupational Safety andHealth Council. It will also serve as a reference book for registered safetyof cers, safety managers, insurance surveyors, project managers, site agents,safety engineers and occupational safety of cers as well as those involved inpromoting occupational safety in the construction industry and preventingaccidents on construction worksites.

One of the core areas of study in civil engineering concerns water that encompasses fluid mechanics, hydraulics and hydrology. Fluid mechanics provide the mathematical and scientific basis for hydraulics and hydrology that also have added empirical and practical contents. The knowledge contained in these three subjects is necessary for the optimal and equitable management of this precious resource that is not always available when and where it is needed, sometimes with conflicting demands. The objective of Fluid Mechanics, Hydraulics, Hydrology and Water Resources for Civil Engineers is to assimilate these core study areas into a single source of knowledge. The contents highlight the theory and applications supplemented with worked examples and also include comprehensive references for follow-up studies. The primary readership is civil engineering students who would normally go through these core subject areas sequentially spread over the duration of their studies. It is also a reference for practicing civil engineers in the water sector to refresh and update their skills.

Modern Construction Envelopes deals with the facade and roof as an integral part of the building, allowing a holistic approach to the design of the building envelope and providing greater design freedom. The book is aimed at readers who want to extend their knowledge of wall and roof construction beyond the information given in the Modern Construction Handbook, using state-of-the-art construction principles of modern facade and roof systems. The third edition of this classic has been fully brought up to date; it contains new examples in all chapters and presents the projects in revised, new 3D drawings and in 27 AR applications that can be accessed free of charge via smartphone and tablet.

Prefabricated housing, often associated with blighted urban land­scapes and monotonous grey boxes, has evolved into an approach to housing with a wealth of aesthetic and structural possibilities. Modern methods of constructing and assembling prefabricated buildings - methods that can be traced back to the 19th century - are going through a renaissance. This is true across the world, from Vancouver and New York to London and Berlin through to Astana and Singapore. Moreover, prefabrication now serves a wider range of purposes than ever before. In Moscow, Europe's largest metropolitan area, it is primarily used as a means to provide affordable homes. But in some countries, prefabrication is surprisingly also used to build exclusive, upmarket properties.This construction and design manual presents a range of different production and assembly methods currently used in the field of prefabricated housing. It particularly focuses on efficiency, sustainability, and market relevance, and presents strategies for organizing processes along with best-practice examples that reflect the latest trends. The manual also explores the historical development of prefabricated housing in order to discover its full architectural potential. Finally, it outlines ten design parameters for prefabricated housing and presents 15 noteworthy examples, making a fresh contribution to the debate on affordable housing today.

The sixth edition of Structural Dynamics: Theory and Computation is the complete and comprehensive text in the field. It presents modern methods of analysis and techniques adaptable to computer programming clearly and easily. The book is ideal as a text for advanced undergraduates or graduate students taking a first course in structural dynamics. It is arranged in such a way that it can be used for a one- or two-semester course, or span the undergraduate and graduate levels. In addition, this text will serve the practicing engineer as a primary reference.

There is a long tradition of using wood as a distinct and ecologically sound building material. Wooden architecture conveys for today's world the breadth of knowledge held in Western and Eastern cultures about the creative use of this unique material. The typical technique of building with wood, joinery, requires that elements are connected only by the skillful interlocking of the constructive parts. In this book, the history of wooden architecture is described in detail using hundreds of examples from Japan, China and Europe. From a holistic understanding, a picture emerges that is informative for architects, and designers, reopens an almost lost world to builders, and will enthrall laypeople. Also available in a German edition (ISBN 978-3-0356-2479-3)